Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

Like a Pro

Today was Tank’s second day riding the bus, and his 4th day at preschool. Yesterday, when the bus got here, I actually had to carry him on to the bus, he was so freaked out by it. When he got dropped off that day, he didn’t seem that fazed by it and his afternoon bus driver (he has a different one in the morning) told me he’d done pretty good.  I was expecting him to have a similar reaction this morning, but when the bus pulled up, he said good-bye to me, grabbed the aide’s hand, and got on the bus with only a little hesitation. When I picked him up this afternoon, the driver said he was acting like a pro, which was good to hear. I sent him with his Puppy (his security stuffed animal) yesterday to help with the transition for the bus, but apparently it helped with in class, too.

During a regular week, there’s no school on Wednesday so, with Thanksgiving this week, today was his last day until next week. I’m a little nervous that, by the time Monday rolls around, he’ll be out of the routine, but there’s not much I can do about it. Now I have to get in to a routine with him being gone. Last week I was going to the gym, but I can’t do that the week I’ve got Princess. See, my gym has a daycare, which is awesome, but they’re closed from 12pm to 2pm, which is right when I need it. After this week I’m going to try going to the gym at 5 am the weeks we’ve got Princess. If that works out for me, I may just keep that schedule.

The Mr and I start classes on 1/14, so yesterday I sat down and worked out a schedule for those 4 months. During the semester, I’ve got my gym time set for 5 to 6am, since I’ll be using the time Tank’s gone to work on homework. If I can get in the habit of going at 5 now, it’ll be so much easier. When I was in high school, I used to wake up at 4:45 and my mom and I would go jogging from about 5-5:45, so while it’s been about 10 years or so since I’ve done that, I have done it before. I’ve got a couple of things I need to work on to be able to do that, which is why I won’t be starting this week. The first is I’ve got to try to go to bed before 11pm each night. I’m such a night owl, I’ve got no problem staying up until 12-1, unless I’ve had a really long, exhausting day. The second thing, I have to retrain my body to wake up that early. Right now I wake up around 7, if left alone (the price of having kids) and while I CAN wake up earlier, if needed, it’s hard if it’s not for something like a special breakfast or an appointment.

Alright, time to start getting dinner ready, the Mr will be home soon.

Question of the Day: What time do you normally wake up in the morning? Are you more of a morning person or a night owl?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

