Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

School

How is everyone doing today? I’m doing pretty good, in a great mood, and super excited for this coming weekend, but I’ll get to that in a minute. If you’ve been following, you know that my 3-year-old son, Tank, is in a developmental preschool. What you may not now is, it’s through the school system, so he follows the school year, which means he had a winter break. Like most public schools, his winter break lasted 2 weeks. I’m not even going to lie, I’ve never been more happy for school to start back again. It wasn’t having him here all the time with no break, it was the fact that going to school and everything that involves, a specific schedule and everything they do to help drain his energy, has left him behavior a whole lot better. This means, during break, he started sliding back to bad behaviors. There were lots of tantrums, and an abundance of energy I just couldn’t seem to get rid of. Part of the problem is, we only have a very small playground in our complex, one car, and not much else within walking distance for a 3-year-old, so we were limited on what we could do to get that energy out. I could not WAIT for the 9th to be here. He started back on Monday and he was so excited (and exhausted!!!) to be back. He gets home about 1:50pm and he was out by 2:20 both days!

While he’s still really tired this week as he gets reacquainted with his school schedule, I can already tell a huge difference in his behavior. Then again, maybe it’s because he’s just too tired to actually whine about anything, ha ha. I had to wake him up yesterday and today. I did this for 2 reasons. One, I want him to keep on a schedule to get his body used to his school hours. The other reason is, we actually had places we had to go yesterday morning and this morning, so I didn’t have the luxury of letting him sleep in.

My other exciting news, which isn’t really news if you’ve read previous posts, is that Saturday is the start of the semester for me and The Mr. He has 2 classes that start on Saturday, a math and Spanish 101, both of which he’ll be doing online (what a brave man!), while I’ve got one, Biology 156, that’s on campus. I’m going to be spending a good 6 hours at school on Saturdays, from 8 am until 2 pm, which won’t be fun, but I’m honestly getting excited about it. I feel like, even though I’ve taken classes a few times last year, I hadn’t really been going anywhere. I felt like my educational journey had stalled. I tried online classes, but I tend to learn best via lecture with a bit of reading for supplemental and the platform of online classes just wasn’t conducive to my learning style.

So on Saturday, I will attend my first on campus college class since 2006. I’m nervous, but also excited. Yesterday the Mr and I headed to the school to pick up our books and supplies. Thank the gods for financial aid, let me tell you! The Mr decided he doesn’t want a backpack right now, not that there’s a great selection to choose from this time of year. We found some at the college bookstore, but they were like $90 each and no way in hell am I paying $90 for a school back pack. Sheesh. We’ll look during the summer when they have all the back to school stuff. Anyway, since the Mr decided he didn’t want a backpack, I was able to get a nice laptop bag. I’ve got a carrying case for my laptop, but it doesn’t have room for anything else. This bag I’ll be able to use as my backpack and have room for my laptop, too. Here it is:

 

 

 

See, that little Velcro area is actually will my laptop will go. For now, it has the book and notebook I’ll need for Saturday. I’ve got everything ready, I’ll just need to add my wallet and keys for Saturday and it’ll be good to go!

I’m going to get going. I have to go pick up the Mr soon. Have a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

