Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

And here we are…

So last night was Halloween and it was a very big day for our family. It was the first time The Goat, almost 3, has ever gone trick or treating. It was also the first time I’ve had a chance to take The Princess, almost 5, out doing the candy thing. It certainly wasn’t her first time, but it was a first for me as a parent. See, Princess was born in November 2006, so obviously she didn’t go that year. I’m horribly against taking children younger than 2 out unless they have an older sibling. At that point, you’re just trying to use your baby to score free candy for yourself. So 2007 was out of the picture for that.

I was all excited for 2008. I may have been about to pop with Goat, but I was looking forward to taking my little girl out. The added bonus was A)She was going to dress as a unicorn, which is always a win and 2) I was really hoping all that walking would start my labor (I was terrified that I would go in to labor on Princess’s birthday. 2 kids with the same birthday, but different years? Just horrible). That went out the window because I’m pretty sure I had food poisoning that day. Well, it may not have been food poisoning, but I was horribly sick. To this day I’m still not sure how I managed to actually drive her to my parents, who promised to take her and get lots of pictures. She actually didn’t go that year because she refused to put on the costume, it apparently freaked her out. It wasn’t a huge deal, she was 2, not like her life was ruined or anything.

2009 was her dad’s year for Halloween. Goat was only a year old, and you know my stance on that. In 2010 Goat was old enough for me to be okay with taking him, but with his issues (which we hadn’t discovered yet), we could tell it was going to be like taking a younger child. So we let Princess spend it with her dad again. This year, oh this year was all mine. I don’t care that Princess had her costume picked out for 11 months (ladybug), that her dad had bought it for her already, or even that it was his week to have her. He offered Halloween to us and we jumped on it. We picked up a football player costume for Goat, because it’s cheap and when (not if) he destroys it, I’d rather he be destroying something cheap than a fricking $40 costume.  Best part? His costume is a bit dusty, but still intact, while hers started falling apart immediately. The fringe on the skirt part was literally coming off the costume as I was dressing her. This is why I buy the cheaper costumes, lol.

Anyway, I was pretty worried about how Goat would react. I mean, after all, we walked in Grandma’s house where they had a giant, fake spider hanging from the fan and he freaked the fuck out. I mean, even after the spider was gone, he would freak if you tried to take him to that room. Surprisingly enough, once we showed him what to do the first 2 or 3 houses, he actually was a pro. He knew to hold up his bucket, say “Trick or Treat” and “Thank You” and everything. He kept the little foam helmet on for the whole thing, and actually kept up pretty well. It wasn’t until the time that we all decided to head back (after about an hour), that he finally started to wind down.

I’m so proud of my little Goat! Princess did a great job, but she’s an old pro at this. She was really good about showing her brother the ropes, but then she’s always good about that. Thinking about last night makes me all nostalgic. This is yet another milestone that has come and gone. Tomorrow we have the IEP meeting with his developmental preschool. His birthday is next week, which is when he starts preschool, and the Princess turns 5 the week after (yes, a whole 5 days later). My babies are growing up so fast!

I’ll be back tomorrow, got a few other things to cover but don’t want to make this post too long. So until then, cuddle your loved ones hard.

Leave a Reply

