Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

Two nights ago, after the Mr went to sleep, I moved back in to the living room. My laptop battery was getting low and my ears were hurting from my headphones, so I decided to watch the movie on the tv. Not long after I sat down, I heard a helicopter fly over head. Now, we don’t live in the “ghetto” or anything, but we do occasional have a police helicopter flying around. We’re near a mall AND a freeway, so it’s to be expected. Instead of just flying over, this chopper was flying in circles around our complex. I wasn’t too interested, until I heard someone shouting instructions over a megaphone.

Deciding to see what was up, I grabbed my jacket and stepped outside. From what I heard, someone had been running from the cops and had decided to hide, either in our complex or the little townhouse community right behind us. The guy on the megaphone was telling the criminal that they had police dogs and would be releasing them if he didn’t obey, that he would get bit by the dog, you know how it goes. I stayed outside for a few minutes, but then came back, mainly because the Mr woke up and came to see what was going on.

I tried to see what was going on through our bedroom window, but there’s a tree right outside it and you can’t see. I watched the chopper fly around for a bit, then eventually it went away. It was overhead between 30-45 minutes. Since it went away, I figure either they got their guy or he slipped through their nets and they were chasing him. I’m going with the “got him” theory because it scares me less.

I wish I could say this was the first time something like this happened…but it’s not. About a year ago, or so, something similar happened. We heard them yelling through the megaphone, wasn’t sure what was going on. We stepped outside the door, stood on the patio trying to figure out what was going on. As we were outside a swat/cop team walked past our building, obviously headed to where the criminal was.

It was both scary and exciting.

Question of the Day:

Have you ever been close to a police situation?

Leave a Reply

