Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

I’m a slacker

I am the first to admit that I slack off, at times. This blog is one of the things that was put on the back burner for a bit. The Mr and I started school in January. Between the two of us, we were in school 5 days a week. One of my classes is an English class, which means essays and, since it’s 102, this means essays where I have to do lots of research. Needless to see, while I spend a lot of time on the computer, most of it is spent either doing English stuff, or studying for my Biology class. When I’m not doing school, I’m being a mom and a wife, so this had to be put aside for a bit. Spring break started this week, for both of us. The kids are still in school, the Princess doesn’t go to school, so she doesn’t do the spring break thing, and Little Man’s spring break isn’t this week. So the nice thing is, I’ll be able to relax while he’s at school. Call me selfish, but I like the idea of not having to do anything during the day when he’s gone.

Of course, just because I wasn’t assigned any homework, doesn’t mean I don’t have anything to do. I’ve got my second essay due for English at the end of the month, which doesn’t leave me a ton of time once we get back to school. Thanks to this reduced time, I’ve decided to get some work done on my essay all this week. The first essay for this class was broken up over a month or so period. The last two weeks of it, I was a madwoman..every available, waking moment was spent hunched over my computer, working furiously on that essay. My poor husband didn’t get to really enjoy time with me during that time. I’d only allow myself a little bit of relaxation every night to avoid getting too far behind. That’s what I’m trying to avoid this time around, hence getting a head start on things.

This weekend was a great one. My grandfather’s 78th birthday was Saturday, and there was a huge celebration for him. Normally, 78 isn’t a huge one to celebrate, but last year on his birthday, he had a stroke. So this year was not only to make up for last year, but it’s also a celebration of how far he’s come since the stroke. There were lots of friends I haven’t seen since I was younger than 10 years old. My dad also made a special trip out from Tennessee for the party. My dad made his initial greetings to the kids, then basically ignored them until the last hour we were there, with the exception of a couple of brief interactions. I could write an essay on the issues I have with my father, so I’ll just leave it at “The kids really enjoyed getting a chance to see their Paw-Paw”. All in all, it was a fun day.

Unfortunately, the weekend ended on a bit of a sad note. The Mr’s grandpa is in the hospital, following surgery. He’s going to be okay, we went to visit him today, he seems to be doing well. And now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go work on my essay a bit. I’m going to try to post here more often, so hopefully I’ll see you guys sometime this week. *waves* Bye!

Leave a Reply

