Just a Mom, trying to stay sane

Big Changes on the Horizon

One Wednesday, for the first time in about a month, I stepped on the scale. Last time I weighed myself, I was down about 17 pounds. Since that point, my seasonal job ended and I wasn’t getting exercise  so I expected my weight to either have stayed the same or give up. Imagine my surprise when I found I’d lost another 10 pounds. Somehow, I’ve lost 27 pounds in about 10 weeks with minimal exercise or change to diet. Yay!

This weight loss, combined with the possibility of a very big decision I’m contemplating making, is enough for me to spend the money to renew my year long gym membership. Now, I can’t renew until next month some time, but I’ve decided to start doing small workouts here at home. I’m talking about things like doing 30 second planks (hoping to get those to a minute soon), as many (girly) push ups as I can handle each time and trying to increase that by 1 every set I do, sit ups, jumping jacks, and squats. These are things I can do at home, without equipment or fancy DVDs, and can do it during commercials or while waiting for something to finish. We’ve got a very small, not so great workout room here in our complex, but the weight machine is one of those all-inclusive ones and I’m pretty sure it’s broken. At least, I can never get it to work. What I’m planning on doing is trying to get to it 5-6 days a week, trying for an hour of cardio.

Now, it’s been quite a while since I was doing regular workouts and I know I can’t just start off running on a treadmill for an hour, but I can start off by just walking for that long, and make sure to try to up the speed every day. I’d like to eventually be able to run for a couple of miles. When I was in high school, my Mom and I started jogging. Each morning, we’d jog for about an hour. Now, it’s been about 10 years since I’ve done that, but I think, with some work, I can get back to that, and more. Once we’ve got the gym membership, I plan on seeing L off to the bus in the morning while dressed in my workout clothes. I’ll then walk to the gym, eventually workout for 2, 2 1/2 hours, then walk back home, pick up L from the bus, and finish my day. I might take some of the group classes after Mr. gets off of work, if he wants to go workout.

You may have seen me mention a big decision I have to make. I can’t/won’t go in to that now, but I will say, it’s something I’ve been thinking about for the last 6 months, and very very seriously about the last couple of days. It would be a career decision, of sorts. Anyway, if I decide to take this path in front of me, it would be a very big change for our family, but definitely a positive one. If/when I make the decision, I’ll post it here, but until then, I’ll just kind of allude to it. I apologize for the cloak and dagger routine, but I don’t want to put it out there unless it’s a for sure thing.

Well, I’m off to eat breakfast (scrambled eggs and home style potatoes), so I’ll catch you later.

Leave a Reply

